Việt Nam , officially the Socialist Republic of Vietnam(SRV; Vietnamese: Cộng hòa Xã hội chủ nghĩa Việt Nam , is the easternmost country on the Indochina Peninsula in Southeast Asia. With an estimated 90.5 million inhabitants as of 2014, it is the world's 14th-most-populous country, and the eighth-most-populous Asian country. Vietnam is bordered by China to the north, Laos to the northwest, Cambodia to the southwest, and Malaysia across the South China Sea to the southeast. Its capital city has been Hanoi since the reunification of North and South Vietnamin 1975.

Vietnam was part of Imperial China for over a millennium, from 111 BC to AD 939. An independent Vietnamese state was formed in 939, following a Vietnamese victory in the Battle of Bạch Đằng River. Successive Vietnamese royal dynasties flourished as the nation expanded geographically and politically into Southeast Asia, until the Indochina Peninsula was colonized by the Frenchin the mid-19th century. Following a Japanese occupation in the 1940s, the Vietnamese fought French rule in the First Indochina War, eventually expelling the French in 1954. Thereafter, Vietnam was divided politically into two rival states, North and South Vietnam. Conflict between the two sides intensified in what is known as the Vietnam War. The war ended with a North Vietnamese victory in 1975.

Vietnam was then unified under a communist government but remained impoverished and politically isolated. In 1986, the government initiated a series of economic and political reforms which began Vietnam's path towards integration into the world economy. By 2000, it had established diplomatic relations with all nations. Since 2000, Vietnam's economic growth rate has been among the highest in the world,  and, in 2011, it had the highest Global Growth Generators Index among 11 major economies. Its successful economic reforms resulted in its joining the World Trade Organization in 2007. 

President                      :  Trần Đại Quang  (2016)

Prime Minister              :  Nguyen xuân Phúc (2016)

Land area                     : 125,622 sq mi (325,361 sq km); total area: 127,244 sq mi (329,560 sq km)

Population (2014 est.)    :  93,421,835 (growth rate: 1%);

Birth rate: 16.26/1000;

Infant mortality rate: 18.99/1000;

Life expectancy: 72.91;

Density per sq mi: 703

Capital (2013 est.)          :   Hanoi, 7.1 million (metro. area), 2.955 million (city proper)

Largest cities                 :   Ho Chi Minh City (Saigon), 8,190,775; Haiphong 925,000; Da Nang 834,000

Monetary unit                :   Vietnam Dong

Public holidays in Vietnam

  2016 2017
International New Year's Day 1 January            1 January
Vietnamese New Year 7-13 February            27 January - 1 February
Hung Kings' Temple Festival 16 April            6 April
Reunification Day 30 April             1 May
Labour Day 1 May             1 May
National Day 2 September             2 September
*If a public holiday in Vietnam falls on a Saturday or Sunday, the following Monday is designated as a holiday.
Capital of Vietnam
Hanoi, the capital of Vietnam, is known for its centuries-old architecture and a rich culture with Southeast Asian, Chinese and French influences. At its heart is the chaotic Old Quarter, where the narrow streets are roughly arranged by trade. There are many little temples, including Bach Ma, honoring a legendary horse, plus Dong Xuan market, selling household goods and street food.
Population7.588 million (2015)


Ho Chi Minh City
Commercial City in Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, commonly known as Saigon, is a city in southern Vietnam famous for the pivotal role it played in the Vietnam War. It's also known for its French colonial architecture, including Notre-Dame Basilica, made entirely of materials imported from France, and the neoclassical Saigon Central Post Office. Food stalls line the city’s streets, especially around bustling Ben Thanh Market.
Population8.224 million (2015)
Northern accent 
Huế is a city in central Vietnam that was the seat of Nguyen Dynasty emperors and the national capital from 1802-1945. A major attraction is its vast, 19th-century Citadel, surrounded by a moat and thick stone walls. It encompasses the Imperial City, with palaces and shrines; the Forbidden Purple City, once the emperor’s home; and a replica of the Royal Theater.
Population :  368,581  ( 2015 )
Đà Nẵng  is the fifth largest city in Vietnam and one of the major port cities, in addition to Ho Chi Minh City and Hai Phong. Situated on the coast of the Eastern Sea, at the opening end of the Hàn River, it is the biggest city in Central Vietnam. Đà Nẵng is the commercial and educational center of Central Vietnam, with a well-sheltered, easily accessible port; its location on the path of National Route 1A and the North–South Railwaymakes it a hub for transportation. It is located within 100 km of severalUNESCO World Heritage Sites, including the Imperial City of Huế, the Old Town of Hội An, and the Mỹ Sơn ruins. The city was previously known asCửa Hàn during early Đại Việt settlement, and as Tourane (or Turon) during French colonial rule. Before 1997, the city was part of Quảng Nam-Đà Nẵng Province. On 1 January 1997, Đà Nẵng was separated fromQuảng Nam Province to become one of five independent (centrally controlled) municipalities in Vietnam. Đà Nẵng is listed as a first class city,and has a higher urbanization ratio than any of Vietnam's other provinces or centrally governed cities.
Population : 1. 08 Millions